In the United States, impeachment is a communicated force of the lawmaking body that permits formal charges to be laid against an officer of government for violations affirmed to have been conferred while in office. Trial on these charges and implementing the evacuation of an authority after the conviction are done separately from the demonstration of the indictment itself.

Bill Clinton and Andrew Johnson are two government personalities who have gone through the impeachment process. The House of Representatives was able to take them out of their positions but later on, they were cleared by the Senate. The impeachment procedure of Richard Nixon was an unsuccessful attempt. Nixon surrendered his office before the vote of the full House for denunciation had transpired. Up to present, there has never been an American president who was expelled from office by indictment and conviction.

The Article II of the United States Constitution says in Section 4 that the President, Vice President, and officers of the United States should be expelled from office through impeachment or conviction on the grounds of Treason, Bribery, and any other form of crime and misdemeanor. The House of Representatives has the exclusive force of arraigning, while the Senate has the sole authority to attempt all prosecutions.

As early as 1804, an Associate Judge in Fairfield County, Ohio Court of Common Pleas named William W. Irvin to be removed from office. In 1832, Associate Justice Theophilus W. Smith of the Illinois Supreme Court also went through an impeachment trial but he was later acquitted. The latest on the list of impeached officials involved Governor Benigno Fitial of the Northern Mariana Islands, who resigned in 2013.